Adsense Large Leaderboard

Saturday, July 16, 2016

Update On Frozen II



Frozen II animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com Anna Elsa


Plans are firming up for the sequel to "Frozen," which is in the planning stages and is a definite "Go." Just to call it something for now, I'll call it "Frozen II." For those who need to know the obvious and not-so-obvious facts about the sequel:

  • "Frozen II" (or whatever they choose to call it) will not be out before 2018 at the absolute earliest. Disney has three major feature films in line ahead of it and there simply isn't room on the schedule before then - and likely for some time afterwards. My own guess is that the sequel will appear during the holiday season in 2020, but it could be a year earlier or even later.
  • Kristen Bell and Idina Menzel will both return.
  • Jennifer Lee will return to direct.
  • Olaf will return and probably get a new girlfriend - who may factor into the story significantly.
  • The characters will have new costumes, certainly Elsa and almost certainly Anna.

Aside from that, everything is guesswork and will remain so until Disney releases a trailer or artwork, which likely won't be before 2018 at the earliest. While the prospect of a sequel is exciting, don't hold your breath, this isn't happening for some time yet.

Frozen II animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com Elsa




2016

Walt Disney: Money Doesn't Excite Me




Walt Disney animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com Mickey Mouse

It's always a good time of year to remember Walt Disney. It doesn't have to be his birthday.

Walt Disney animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com Mickey Mouse

Imagine the freedom to indulge your creativity like Walt Disney. He managed to create an entire industry - animated feature films. His characters remain as vibrant as the day he created them.

Walt Disney animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com

2016


Sunday, May 8, 2016

Allumette: Something 3D/VR Beautiful


Allumette animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com Penrose Studios Penrose Studios


Animation is ready for "the next best thing." Let's face it: animation basically hasn't progressed that much since the Disney Golden Age. Yes, the techniques have improved, the colors are better, everything is more "real." However, you basically are looking at caricatures of people and things in a 2D environment. I even would bet you that I could show a few "improvements" that are nothing of the sort.

Allumette animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com Penrose Studios



You may not buy that argument, because new animation is undeniably snazzier, with better audio (a vastly overlooked aspect of modern animation) and lots of computer techniques that get the look sharper. However, what the industry really needs is to break out of the 2D world and actually present a more realistic portrait of, well, reality. That would be a game-changer... if done right.

Allumette animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com Penrose Studios


So far, I haven't seen much progress in that area. I am not a fan of 3D television or 3D films, but animation is one area where 3D could make a huge difference. Combine it with virtual reality, and it may be revolutionary. A promising pioneer in the field is Penrose Studios.

Allumette animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com Penrose Studios
Eugene Chung and staff working on "Allumette."

Eugene Chung, a money guy ("venture capitalist") who sipped some coffee at Pixar, is behind Penrose. He is credited as a "writer and director" at the studio, so he is a creative type as well. Chung hooked up with Oculus, the virtual reality outfit, which then got acquired by Facebook, and maybe that's where a lot of that money came from. Chung seems to only stay at places briefly; he was out of Oculus after only about a year to found Penrose not much more than a year ago. So, this is brand new and in a state of flux.

Allumette animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com


It is too early to say where this new field of animation is headed. I could throw more facts at you about this, but the proof will be in the pudding. 3D is one of those things that keeps getting hyped and then disappoints, so let's not get all excited to no purpose. Virtual reality, combined with stellar animation, would be a completely new sort of experience which will be worth checking out. In my very casual opinion, though, virtual reality itself still needs a lot of development to really realize its potential.

Allumette animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com Penrose Studios


So far, Chung has been involved with only two films: "Lost," a short film that Oculus and he worked on; and "Allumette," a full children's story that Chung and his team worked up after he left Oculus and began Penrose. Allumette is what we are all waiting to see, and it is not out yet anywhere as far as I can tell. Chung posits that "this is that next major medium of human storytelling." Well, that's a pretty grand statement. We shall see. I am willing to give them a chance, and that isn't always the case.

Allumette animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com Penrose Studios


There is some interactivity involved with "Allumette." While it is very minor, there is a point or two where you can actually move around within the story and open up different views, not just different angles of the same thing. Virtual reality gives you that kind of true 3D experience, which is a lot different than what we usually think of as 3D film, with things flying at the screen and so forth. I can't review "Allumette" yet, because I haven't yet seen it. You have to wear one of those obnoxious headsets, or perhaps just big glasses, which is a downer. Anyway, the details will sort themselves out. I am just giving a head's up that something new is coming down the road, and you may be interested when it gets here. I sure am.

Allumette animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com Penrose Studios


So, I'm not sure what to think about this yet. I like the entire concept of a marriage between virtual reality and animation. I don't particularly like the bulky VR viewers that you have to strap to your head and the fact that it could make a lot of people nauseous. With "Allumette," the medium is the message, as the famous saying goes. I'm not interested in the story, which I'm sure is very pleasing and novel, but in the technique. Unfortunately, pictures cannot do this justice. Let's just say you'll have to see this to believe it, so if you are into animation, you may want to make that a priority at some point. Unfortunately, we all still have to wait for it.





2016

Monday, February 29, 2016

Inside Out and Bear Story Win Oscars



animatedfilmreviews.filiminspector.com


To absolutely nobody's surprise, Walt Disney Pictures' "Inside Out" won the Oscar for best animated feature film. There was absolutely no suspense to the award whatsoever. To be frank, this was a weak year for animated feature films, with no "Ratatouille" in sight, let alone a "Frozen." I can think of several great animated films of recent years, such as, oh, "Wreck-It Ralph" for example, that were more enduring than "Inside Out." In a weak year, though, the big-study favorite invariably wins. It was the safe choice, and was deserved. Kids love it. Congratulations to the winners, superb execution.

"Bear Story" won for best short, which was a minor (but welcome) surprise. Well-deserved, but a surprise considering that it was up against a Pixar film. The animation was indifferent by modern standards (which are quite tough to stand out from), but the story was told well and the tale touched the heart if you let it (the bear works through sadness and regret and marches on). Really, that is what film - not just animation - is all about. It also is something that I personally found lacking in "Inside Out" despite its brilliant technical execution.

I personally like the choice of "Bear Story," which required some actual thought and originality from the Academy members. It was nice recognition of the wide range of animation today throughout this great big world.

The official synopsis for "Bear Story" (Historia de un oso) states:
"Every day, a melancholy old bear takes a mechanical diorama that he has created out to his street corner. For a coin, passersby can look into the peephole of his invention, which tells the story of a circus bear who longs to escape and return to the family from which he was taken."
"Bear Story" was made by Gabriel Osorio and Pato Escala at Punkrobot Studio. In my preview of the Oscars, I went on and on about how my sentimental choice would be a win from one of the foreign efforts, and Bear Story - from Chile - fits the bill nicely (financed in part by the Chilean government).

Well done, Academy!

"Inside Out" also was up for a Writing (Original Screenplay) Oscar. It did not win. This did not surprise me at all. The whole concept behind "Inside Out" is a hoary cliché that goes back over 40 years, when Woody Allen did an extended riff on it. It was fresh then, not so much now. In this case, the true honor really was to be nominated.

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM



Anomalisa

Boy and the World

Inside Out - WINNER

Shaun the Sheep Movie

When Marnie Was There


animatedfilmreviews.filiminspector.com


SHORT FILM (ANIMATED)



Bear Story - WINNER

Prologue

Sanjay’s Super Team

We Can’t Live without Cosmos

World of Tomorrow

animatedfilmreviews.filiminspector.com



2016

Thursday, January 14, 2016

2016 Animated Oscar Nominations


2016 Oscars animatedfilmrevews.filminspector.com


"Big Hero 6" from Disney won the Animated Feature Film in 2015. This year's field is a relatively weak one. Pixar's "Inside Out" is a favorite for that Oscar in 2016. The Animated Short Film field does not have a clear favorite, but Pixar also has an entry there - "Sanjay's Super Team" - and that will be a strong contender.

The 88th Academy Awards ceremony will take place on 28 February 2016 at 7 p.m. EST.

My personal picks - meaning the ones I think will win - are "Inside Out" for Animated Feature Film and "Sanjay's Super Team" for Animated Short Film. Yes, another good year for Disney. Its quality is just too great to mess with these days.

My sentimental picks - meaning what I wish would win - are "Boy and the World" and "Bear Story." This is just because the odds against them even being made  - in South America! - and nominated were so great. Animation is in great shape south of the border, but nobody can compete with the Disney machine on even terms. Richard Williams is just phenomenal and kudos to his nomination so  many decades after "A Christmas Carol," I love it when the legends return for another bow.

The biggest injustice was "The Peanuts Movie" being snubbed, but I admit that it was kind of just what you would expect from a, well, "Peanuts" movie. With that exception, I think the nominations were appropriate. Several foreign-made films ("Boy and the World," "Shaun the Sheep Movie," and "When Marnie Was There") were nominated, illustrating the health of the global animation industry.


ANIMATED SHORT FILM

Bear Story
dir. Gabriel Osorio, pro. Pato Escala
Prologue
dir. Richard Williams, pro. Imogen Sutton
Sanjay’s Super Team
dir. Sanjay Patel, pro. Nicole Grindle
We Can’t Live Without Cosmos
dir. Konstantin Bronzit
World of Tomorrow
dir. Don Hertzfeldt


ANIMATED FEATURE FILM

Anomalisa
dir. Charlie Kaufman and Duke Johnson, pro. Rosa Tran
Boy and the World
dir. Alê Abreu
Inside Out
dir. Pete Docter, pro. Jonas Rivera
Shaun the Sheep Movie
dir. Mark Burton and Richard Starzak
When Marnie Was There
dir. Hiromasa Yonebayashi, pro. Yoshiaki Nishimura

As widely expected, "Inside Out" also nabbed a nomination for Best Original Screenplay.


Walt Disney Oscars animatedfilmrevews.filminspector.com





2016

Thursday, November 26, 2015

Einstein's Theory of Relativity - Animated

Albert Einstein theory of relativity animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com


One of those never-noted but significant dates in history is 25 November 1915. Aside from some fighting during World War I, this was the date that Albert Einstein published his General Theory of Relativity.

Einstein's theory is still difficult to understand. This animation aims to make is simple.

A lot of talent went into this. It was animated by award-winning animator Eoin Duffy, who worked with filmmaker Jamie Lochhead. That voice you hear may sound familiar - it is Doctor Who star David Tennant. Some of the basic science was supplied by science communicator Anais Rassat. And all in three minutes!

#Einstein100 - General Relativity from Eoin Duffy on Vimeo.

Albert Einstein theory of relativity animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com


A short film celebrating the centennial of Einstein's theory of General Relativity.

JAMIE LOCHHEAD - Writer / Producer
EOIN DUFFY - Design / Animation
DAVID TENNANT - Narrator
WESLEY SLOVER - Sound Design
ANAÏS RASSAT Writer / Science Outreach / Communication
A WINDFALL FILMS production for the SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY FACILITIES COUNCIL



2015

Saturday, November 21, 2015

Shortlist for 2016 Animated Feature Film Oscar


It is time to start thinking about the 2016 Oscar for Best Animated Feature Film.

The 88th Academy Awards are coming up, and the process already is under way to find out the winners - even though 2015 still has over a month to go, and several contenders haven't even been released yet.

It is impossible to handicap this race at this time, but some guesses are in order. "Shaun the Sheep Movie" is my own sentimental pick, and "Minions" is so popular ($1.15 billion) that it is one of the favorites, along with "The Good Dinosaur" (not yet released, but sure to be a holiday hit). I was not impressed by "Inside Out," but it also will get a lot of consideration simply due to how much money it made ($840 million). After that, "Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet" is my choice for a dark horse slot, though nobody saw it.

Five films out of these 16 will be nominated.

The submitted features, listed in alphabetical order, are:

Anomalisa
The Boy And The Beast
Boy And The World
The Good Dinosaur
Home
Hotel Transylvania 2
Inside Out
Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet
The Laws Of The Universe – Part 0
Minions
Moomins On The Riviera
The Peanuts Movie
Regular Show: The Movie
Shaun The Sheep Movie
The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out Of Water
When Marnie Was There

The Oscar noms will be announced on January 14, with the Oscars telecast set for February 28 on ABC hosted by Chris Rock.





2015