Adsense Large Leaderboard

Sunday, May 4, 2014

"Le Spark" - Fireflies on a Date

Le Spark animatedfilmreviews.filminspector.com
"Le Spark"

Le Spark from Nathaniel Winckler on Vimeo.


Some animations have deep meaning. Some are just light entertainment. I'm putting this in the latter category, though, if you're really into the mating habits of fireflies you may disagree.

Anyway, this is a cute three-minute animation with a lot of lot of, well, cute touches. There's a lot of nice detail and flourishes that make you forget before the three minutes are up that these are, well, fireflies. That things go, shall we say, "wrong" may bring back memories of some of your own dates. But there's a lot of truth in the interaction of these little guys. As usual with this sort of thing, we're not really talking about fireflies, are we.

It appears a great deal of effort went into making "Le Spark." The background music is well-done and apparently original. I assume they used the resources of a university to assemble everything together, else I don't know how you get that much input on an independent animation on any kind of a reasonable budget. The end product is what matters, and it is definitely quite fun.

From the site:

Directed by Nathaniel Winckler (natewinck.com)
Produced by Jennifer Silver (linkedin.com/pub/jennifer-silver/87/bb0/191)
Assistant Producer
Vada Bennett (vadabennett.com/)
Original Music
Austin Scott
Music Production Manager & Music Editor
Sean O'Connor (seanmichaeloconnor.com)
Story & Screenplay
Jennifer Silver
Nathaniel Winckler
Storyboards
Christopher Birnbaum (christopherbirnbaum.weebly.com/)
Character Designers
J. Seth Van Der Eems (jseth.net/)
Rica Wiersema (ricawiersema.yolasite.com/)
Christopher Birnbaum
Environment Designers
Rica Wiersema
J. Seth Van Der Eems
Title Design
Nathaniel Winckler
Modeling Artists
Nathaniel Winckler
Will Turner
Nicholas McCamish
Rigging & Animation
Nathaniel Winckler
Additional Animation
Christopher Birnbaum
Lighting & Shading Artist
Nathaniel Winckler
Makeup Specialist
Johanna Sutherland
Visual Effects Artists
Will Turner
Nathaniel Winckler
Editing, Layout, & Camera
Nathaniel Winckler
Rendering & Composting
Nathaniel Winckler
Render Farm Manager
Nathaniel Winckler
Render Farm Assistants
J. David Smith
Landon Dickens
Will Turner
Software Engineer
J. David Smith
Sound Design, Extra Dialogue Recording, & Dialogue Editor
Phillip Jackson (philjacksonpost.com/)
Recording Engineer & Re-recording Mixer
Benjamin Groves (benjamintgroves.com/)
Assistant Recording Engineer
Brandon Hendrix
Conductors
Sean O'Connor
Austin Scott
Guy Firefly
Alex Johnson
Girl Firefly
Lucy Shea (facebook.com/Shea.Lucy)
Cricket
Melissa Landon
Marketing
Elijah Friedeman (linkedin.com/in/elijahfriedeman)
Kaity Scanlan (linkedin.com/pub/kaity-scanlan/86/75/393)
Behind the Scenes
Nathaniel Winckler
Scott Kulaga
Sean O'Connor
Violin Soloist
Caitlin Malone
Musicians
Caitlin Malone
Sarah Crock
Stacey Ballinger
Sean O'Connor
Abigail Briggs
Christian Hall
Nick Manchester
Ian Huxham
Eddie George
Amanda Bailey
Kristy Nevil
Adam Schell
Jay Smith
Special Thanks
Jeff & Becky Winckler
Hannah Friedeman
Olivia Cook
Karen White
Jeremy White
David Strunk
Asbury University (asbury.edu)
and all those who supported this production




2014

No comments:

Post a Comment